Earworms 5 August 2019

Good afternoon, it’s bright and breezy here and we’re all ready for a fantasy festival in the sunshine. Ice cream, beer, novelty hats etc. are optional extras and all free; toilets are plentiful, clean, eco-friendly and never without water, soap or loo roll. If you have an Earworm you’d like to share, please send an .mp3, .m4a or a link to earworm@tincanland.com, together with a few words about why you’ve chosen it. Next week’s theme will be songs of separation. Many thanks to all contributors.

Tinnie’s blues festival – tincanman: Uncanny timing, Ali; I was at a blues festival just yesterday and recorded these segments on my phone. Here’s Mississippi Fred McDowell, The Yardbirds, Peter Green Splinter Group, Muddy Waters, Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee, and Stevie Ray Vaughan. Even the dead guys sounded great; glad I spent the extra for good seats.

Broken Family Band – Happy Days are Here Again – shoegazer: Because I never got to see them.

Pinkkats in Chanes Festival – severinPink Floyd (Headliners); Etta James; Siouxsie and the Banshees; Katzenjammer; Bhundu Boys; Olivia Chaney. That looks like a good day out in the park to me. I’m guessing that if this was a real festival then people would want the most famous acts to be nearer the top of the bill. Which kind of works to my advantage because I can make Olivia the opening act and include a song from her. I’ve posted a number of her songs before (no kidding) so here’s one you may not have heard. Her version of Violeta Parra’s La Jardinera, which would make a pretty good opener I reckon. The Floyd, from the late-sixties to the mid-seventies were perfect festival headliners. When I saw them at Knebworth, Echoes was the (twenty-three minute) encore.

GlassVeryFull Festival – ghe: My fantasy line up would open with the erudite violinist and ace whistler Andrew Bird. Andrew Bird would be followed through the afternoon and early evening by sets from Tindersticks, M Ward, Sparklehorse, At swim two birds, Decemberists, Nina Simone, Elmore James, Lupe Fiasco, Kate Bush, Jackie Leven and then into the evening with Neil Young, Janis Joplin with Big Brother and the Holding Co, and headlined by The Jimi Hendrix Experience – here he is singing tenderly about his mum.

Ravi’s Rave-Up – Ravi Raman: Buddy Rich – Slow Funk/ Ten Years After – I’m Coming On: My six would be John Fairhurst to open, Robert Cray and Indian Ocean to follow with Peter Green Splinter Group, Buddy Rich and Ten Years After to close. Instead of the opening act I’ll put up two from the closing acts. From the remarkable No Funny Hats album and a Best of … compilation respectively.

Ali’s Wig-Out – AliMunday: Impossible to narrow this down to six acts. I need a separate Folk stage, a World stage, and Nigel Kennedy playing Vivaldi (but don’t tell abahachi). But for now and largely off the top of my head, I want something to get us all up and dancing. So we start with headliners Muse (I would like them to do the extended version of ‘Drones’ which they did at Glastonbury a few years ago, a kind of Gregorian chant, but I can’t find a long version) – so 90% rock-out from them, please; then Rory Gallagher, resurrected and none the worse for it; Queens of the Stone Age, Royal Blood, Blues Pills, and Florence and the Machine to wind down at the end and disperse some of the testosterone. Ask me tomorrow and it will be different.

Image copyright: Copyright : Andrey Alyukhin  (Follow) https://www.123rf.com/