Earworms 12 August 2019

‘Well now you’re gone I can drink whiskey through the day … I got some dancing to do, I got some tears to shed.’ Excellent introduction to this week’s songs of separation from Band of Jays, who I saw last night (and brilliant they were, too).

Parting is such sweet sorrow … If you have an Earworm you’d like to share, please send an .mp3, .m4a or a link to earworm@tincanland.com, together with a few words about why you’ve chosen it. Next week’s theme will be maps, charts, compasses, sat navs and any sort of geo-location device. Many thanks to all contributors.

Mama Cass – Dream a Little Dream of Me – AliM: A classic. Anticipation of separation.

Dillard & Clark – Train Leaves Here This Mornin’ – tincanman: Gene Clark made a habit of leaving a good thing just before it really paid off, leaving bandmates, family, friends and record company execs stranded and scratching their heads. It was never to do something else; just to stop doing that. (I’ve been binge listening and damned if he didn’t leave behind some songs).

Antony With Bryce Dessner – I was Young When I Left Home – glassarfemptee: This Dylan song from Antony Hegarty with The National’s Bryce Dessner brings a lump to my throat. From the fabulous charity album ‘Dark was the night‘.

Peter Green Splinter Group – Time Keeps Slipping Away – Ravi Raman: Just wanting to extend Mr Green’s presence at The ‘Spill.

All Folk’d Up – The Leaving of Liverpool – AliM: Deceptively cheerful – ‘It’s not the leaving of Liverpool that grieves me, but my darling when I think of thee …’

Allison Crutchfield – Sightseeing – tincanman: Travelling together post-breakup is a special kind of separation hell. Hours spent driving in the wrong direction staring at the moon.

Keane, Moloney & O’Connell – Kilkelly – glassarfemptee: Another lump in the throat song, of the letters to a much missed immigrant to the US from his father in Ireland. I’m crying as I write this …

Tubeway Army – Me, I Disconnect From You – shoegazer: (iTunes files this under ‘N’, which makes sense but is really irritating. Ed.)

Bonnie Raitt w. Ray Charles – Do I Ever Cross Your Mind – Ravi Raman: One of my favourite duets from the latter’s Genius Loves Company. The slide guitar and that drawl make a terrific combination.

Continue reading

Rebellion Friday 2019

brianblessed_princevultan_flashgordon[1]

“..1-2, 1-2……..1-2, 1-2…”

Friday morning and we’re up for a hearty breakfast and a chance to chew over Thursday. Damp is still not impressed by Fear. “What’s the singer’s name?” asks Lydon Superfan “Is it Lee Ving?” “He should have fucking left” is Damp’s response.

Anyway there’s no time to mess about, I’ve got to be at a nearby street corner to meet my dealer (record dealer that is, although I suppose a man loitering with a plastic bag and taking money off punters for packages does look a bit suspicious). I ask if he’ll accept Bar Stool Preachers stickers as payment – apparently not!

Continue reading